Error message

There is a place where heaven and earth share the same stage

Welcome to the Wadden Sea World Heritage site

The Wadden Sea is the largest tidal flats system in the world, where natural processes proceed undisturbed. It extends along the coasts of Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands.

The Dutch-German Wadden Sea became World Heritage in 2009, followed by the Danish part in 2014. The Wadden Sea was inscribed into the UNESCO World Heritage List for its globally unique geological and ecological values. Nowhere else in the world is there such a dynamic landscape with a multitude of habitats, shaped by wind and tides. Biodiversity on a worldwide scale is reliant on the Wadden Sea.

Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands have been joining forces for its conservation for over 30 years, taking responsibility of preserving this irreplaceable ecosystem for the benefit of present and future generations.

Where to go?

Explore the Wadden Sea's regional highlights



Launch our multi-layered conservation GIS map


Highlights – a few things everyone should know about the Wadden Sea

Het Wad heeft veel te bieden (Lauwersoog)

Read more

The Wadden Sea is a natural area of global importance shared by three countries. At the same time, the Wadden Sea is surrounded by a significant population. Therefore, the continued priority for the protection and conservation of the Wadden Sea is an important feature of the planning and regulation of use, including within land/water- use plans.

which is supplied by the marsh vegetation itself.The habitats of the Wadden Sea show how physical forces and biological activities interact to generate conditions for life in a fragile balance.


6 million

The Wadden Sea is one of the most important areas for migratory birds in the world. Around 6 million migratory birds can be present in the Wadden Sea at one time, and an average of 10-12 million pass through it in autumn and spring every year.